CORPORATE CITIZENSHIP

Von Wakano’s Kochmeister House

Alfred Von Wakano’s restaurant, or “Kochmeister House”, is a monument of architecture of 20th century.

The building was bought in 2006 within our investment program. Design of restoration works was completed in 2008, but financing was suspended and the building was put on conservation until 2015; the work resumed in 2016. The building is an object of cultural heritage of federal value. Following the project the ‘eating house’ will be adapted for modern use and will include areas for entertainment infrastructure, a restaurant, a bar, exhibition space and showrooms.

A glimpse of history

The beer shop and the Kochmeister House (or a small restaurant or canteen) of the “Zhiguli Brewing Cooperative” in Samara occupied a private house constructed in 1903.

The Zhiguli Brewery was founded in Samara in March 1880 by foreign merchants Alfred Von Wakano and Moritz M. Faber. It was one of the largest industrial companies of Samara. The plant was built in less than a year, and the first brew was on 10 February, 1881. The production of beer was 48,000 decaliters in 1881, but by the year 1913 the plant’s output grew to 3,000,000 decaliters per year. The high quality of products won the plant a great reputation in Eastern Russia: it brewed ‘Vienna’, ‘Table’ and ‘Bavaria’ styles of beer. It had a monopolist right to brew the “Zhigulevskoe” lager that was exported, too. 85% of the products was sold outside Samara from wholesale depots in Eastern Russia, in the Caucasus, in the Transcaspian Region and in Siberia (52 depots total). The company had about 400 retail shops, and one of them was the bar in the Alekseevskaya Street. From 1882 to 1900, the plant was owned by the joint-stock company, but on January 1, 1900 it was reorganized to the “Zhiguli Brewing Cooperative of A. Wakano and Co.”. By 1906, the partners were A.F. Wakano and V.A. Wakano, and M.M. Faver and K.M. Faber were its investors.

The success of the company called for expansion of production that was done until 1911 without stopping the main production facilities. The plant’s reconstruction was under the project of the German machine building company of J.S. Schwalbe. It was then that the building of the restaurant was built using Baroque architectural solutions.

The architect decided to use the rustic work as the main decorative element. It covers the entire plane of the wall and brings it to life with an intricate play of light and shadow. The building is Baroque-styled (wall superstructures above the ledge), with a line of paired windows with semicircular transoms and panels.

Owing to the exquisite forms of the façade and the rich interplay of light and shade the building is dynamic and picturesque. Its interiors had a great artistic value. Too. One of them is captured in a photograph in the album of the Wakano and Faber cooperative published in Leipzig in the early 20th century.

In 1918, during the Komuch period (abbreviated in Russian from Committee of Constituent Assembly Members — first anti-Bolshevist national government of Russia that was organized in Samara by the members of the Constituent Assembly protesting the dismissal of Assembly in January 1918), the building housed the Headquarters of Russian Officers’ Society.

During the NEP (New Economic Policy, 1920s) the Zhiguli Brewery was rented by the “Wakano Brothers, Boyarsky and Faber” Cooperative (the rent agreement was until 17 January, 1935).

Later, the building housed the calculating machine station of NIIPTIMASH Institute.

Социальная деятельность

Кухмистерская «Фон Вакано»

Кухмистерская «Фон Вакано» является памятником архитектуры ХХ века.

Здание было приобретено в 2006 в рамках инвестиционной программы. Проектные работы по реставрации были завершены к 2008 году, однако финансирование было приостановлено. Объект был законсервирован до 2015 года, с 2016 года работы возобновились. Здание является объектом культурного наследия Федерального значения. Согласно проекту, Кухмистерская «Фон Вакано» будет приспособлено для современного использования и будет включать в себя пространство досуговой инфраструктуры, ресторан, бар, выставочные площади и шоурумы.

Краткая историческая справка

Пивная лавка или, так называемая кухмистерская (небольшой ресторан, столовая) «Товарищества Жигулевского пивоваренного Завода» в Самаре размещалась в собственном доме, построенном в 1903 г.

Жигулевский пивоваренный завод в Самаре был основан в марте 1880 г. иностранцами А.Ф. фон Вакано и М.М.Фабером. Он являлся одним из самых крупных промышленных предприятий г. Самары. Завод строился менее года, и первая варка пива здесь была произведена 10 февраля 1881 г. Выпуск пива в этом году составил 48.000 декалитров, к 1913 г. мощность завода достигла 3.000.000 декалитра в пива в год. Завод завоевал первое место во всей Восточной России, благодаря хорошему качеству своей продукции, а варил он пиво таких марок, как «венское», «столовое», «баварское». Ему принадлежало монопольное право варить пиво марки «жигулевское», которое шло и на экспорт. 85 % продукции завод продавал вне г. Самары, отправляя ее на свои оптовые склады, расположенные в Восточной России, на Кавказе, в Закаспийском крае и в Сибири. Их насчитывалось 52. Заведений розничной продажи завод имел около 400. Одним из таких заведений и была пивная лавка в Самаре на Алексеевкой улице. С 1882 г. до 1900 г. завод принадлежал акционерному обществу. 1 января 1900 г. оно было преобразовано в Торговый дом «Товарищество Жигулевского поваренного завода А. Вакано и К°». К 1906 г. полными товарищами были А.Ф. Вaкано и В.А. Вакано, а вкладчиками М.М. Фабер и К.М. Фабер.

Успешная деятельность товарищества создала предпосылки для значительного расширения предприятия, которое осуществлялось без остановки производства до 1911 г. Реконструкция завода велась по проекту германской машинофабричной фирмы И.С. Швальбе. В этот период и было построено здание кухмистерской с использованием архитектурных элементов стиля барокко.

Архитектор использовал в качестве декоративного приема руст. Он покрывает всю плоскость стен, оживляя ее богатой игрой светотени. Построено оно с использованием архитектурных элементов стиля барокко. (надстроенных стенках, расположенных над венчающем сооружение карнизом и предназначенных большей частью для барельефа или надписи), а также динамичным рядом высоких спаренных окон с полуциркульным фрамугами и наличниками.

Здание, благодаря причудливой пластике фасадов, беспокойной игре светотени и т.д., отличается живописностью и динамичностью. Художественную ценность представляли интерьеры этого здания. Один из них запечатлен на фотографии тех лет, помещенной в альбоме товарищества А.Ф. фон Вакано и М.М. Фабера, изданного в начале ХХ в. в Лейпциге.

В 1918 г. в период КОМУЧа (Комитет членов Всероссийского Учредительного собрания) — первого антибольшевистского всероссийского правительства России, организованного в Самаре членами Учредительного собрания, не признавшими разгон собрания декретом ВЦИКа 6 января 1918 года) — в здании пивной размещался Штаб русских офицеров.

В период НЭПа (20-е годы) Жигулевский пивоваренный завод был арендован Товариществом «Бр. Вакано, Боярский и Фабер» (договор был подписан сроком до 17 января 1935 г.).

В этом здании позднее размещалась машиносчетная станция НИИПТИМАШ.